Tourist Information,  Vendee History,  Accommodation,   Photos,   Reviews,  Maps,
Vendee Guide en Francais
Feudal castle at Commequiers
Port Joinville harbour, Ile d'Yeu
Custom Search
Regions of the Vendée
The main geographic areas of the Vendée are listed below along with a short description of each. For more in depth information simply follow the appropriate link to any of the pages relating to a specific region.

The Vendée is divided into four distinct regions, these are The Coastal Region, The Marais, The Plaine and The Bocage.

Coastal Region and Islands The coastal regions and islands are characterised by long sandy beaches backed by sand dunes which were planted with Pine and Holm Oak in the Nineteenth Century, these are punctuated in places by low cliffs and rocky outcrops. The most tourist intense region of the Vendée the coast and islands have a mix of pretty fishing villages, large coastal holiday towns and purpose built holiday villages offering a multitude of water borne activities and restaurants.

Marais There are three main areas of Marais or wetland which are situated behind the coastal strip and are separated by two peninsulas of the Bas Bocage one of which reaches the coast just south of St Giles Croix de Vie with the other stretching from Les Sables D’Olonne to Longeville-sur-mer. These are the  Marais Breton   Marais Olonne   Marais Poitevin

Plaine This is a large flat region behind the coastal region responsible for much of the Vendée’s agricultural output. The Vendée Plaine more often referred to as the Luçon -Fontenay Prairie is the original coastal plaine that developed behind the Bay of Pictons, It was a vast expanse of natural grassland, almost devoid of trees.

Bocage. The Bocage is split into the  Haute Bocage (High) and the Bas Bocage (Low). These are areas of rolling countryside full of farms sporting cattle and other livestock and vineyards. It is characterised by small fields with high hedges giving the illusion that the area is very wooded where sa the Vendee is one of the least forested departments in France.

Sud Vendée and Mervent Forest The Mervent Forest is a National Park containing ancient trees a lake complex and much rare flora and fauna, it is normally included along with the Marais Poitevin, in the South Vendée for the purposes of tourism.

Marais Poitevin Haut Bocage Bas Bocage Marais Breton Vendeen The Plaine. Fontenay-Lucon Prairie Marais Poitevin Coastal Region
    Contact us     Advertise     Accommodation     Legal  Site Map
In accordance with the law "and Freedoms" of January 6, 1978, you have the right to access and rectify information concerning you. If you wish to exercise this right, please contact us.
© Copyright 2009-12
This website is built with Bluevoda from Vodahost